2016 River Championship - SANACC

Go to content

2016 River Championship

River Championship

2016 Scottish National River Championship
Scottish National River Championship Final
River Tummel
Sunday 24th July 2016

The Scottish National River Final was held on the River Tummel on Sunday 24th July. The conditions were perfect with light wind and overcast conditions eventually leading to rain in the last session. Fishing was extremely difficult and those that did catch changed methods as required to meet the various water types. Best methods being bugging and nymphing. Following this year’s floods the usual places did not fish as expected.

The 2016 River Champion is Alan Hill of SPRA (West) FF. Alan took fish in all four sessions with a total of 7 for the day. He won three of the four sessions and finished with 14 place points well clear of the field.

Grant Gibson of St Boswells, Newtown & Districts AA was second with 29 place points. Grant took fish in three of the four sessions, winning session 2 but clean in session 4.

Mark Straughan of Coldstream and District AA was just behind in third with 30 place points. Mark also had fish in three sessions but was clean in session 2.

The 4th, 5th and 6th placed anglers, Bob Robertson of SPRA(West) FF, Dick Logan of Coldstream & District AA and Mark Stewart of Earlston AA along with the top three will represent Scotland at the 2016 River International.


Dick, Mark Alan
Bob, Grant and Martin

Jake Harvey, Connor Maclennan
Bob Robertson and Dick Logan
Scottish National River Championship
Heat - 15th May 2016
River Tummel

The second heat of the River Championship was held on the River Tummel on 16th May 2016.  The top rod was Ernie McKay of Leven Fly Casters with 14 place points.  Grant Gibson of St Boswells, Newtown & District AA was second with 15 place points and James Litster of Neilston FF was third with 18 place points.  The top 6 go through to the final.
photo: Mick Tait, Ian Runcie, Mark Straughan, Ernie McKay, James Litster and Grant Gibson
Ernie Mackay jnr,  Mike Cordiner, Karl Ferguson, Gordon Whyte and Rab Maxwell

Heat 2 - 1st May 2016

Bert NoonCaurnie AC
Peter ScholesStrathleven FF
Steve NorrisDunkeld & Birnam AA
Derek BrownKelso AA
Keith CraigBrechin AC
Rab MaxwellClatto & Stratheden AC
David ChalmersClatto & Stratheden AC
Douglas GrahamStrathgryfe AA
Karl FergusonKelso AA
James LitsterNeilston FF
Richard McHattieD & B FF
Stewart McCabePort Glasgow AC

 Heat 3 - 15th May 2016
Grant GibsonSt Boswells Newtown & District AA
Cuillin RaeSt Boswells Newtown & District AA

Scott McGregor Arbroath AC
Mick TaitKelso AA
Ian RuncieBrechin AC
Ian WilsonClatto & Stratheden AC
Mark StraughenColdstream & District AA
Steven StewartLochgelly SRC AS
Ron ChesneyCrown FF
Robert IrvineCrown FF

 Heat 4 - 22nd May 2016
Jake HarveySt Boswells Newtown & District AA
Donald ForbesStrathleven FF
Jason HenryPitlochry AC
Connor MacLennanStrathgryfe AA
Fred McDonaldNCR AC
Alan HillSPRA FFS West
Bob RobertsonSPRA FFS West
Gordon WhyteABC & D AC
Derek CowanLochgelly SRC AS
Archie FergusonLochgelly SRC AS
John McCallumDunkeld & Birnam AA
Mike LowEast Kilbride AC
Hugh SkeochCrown FF
Dick LoganColdstream & District AA
John WatsonRainbow Warriors
Martin StewartEarlston AA
Back to content