Go to content
National Youth Fly Fishing Championship International Youth Team: If you are under 18 and interested in fishing in the National Youth Fly Fishing Championship or the Scottish Youth Team then contact Arthur Wilkie on 07889950031

Angling for Young People at the Lake of Menteith:  click on Lake of Menteith for information on youth angling at Menteith

Our Privacy Notice can be viewed by clicking on PRIVACY NOTICE  Our Cookies Policy can be viewed by clicking on COOKIES POLICY
Scottish National Trout Fly Fishing Championship 2019
Sponsored by Ridgeline UK
Heat 1 - 16th April - Lake of Menteith

The first heat of the National was won by Kevin McCabe of Change FF AC with 23 fish.  Neill Barrett of Gilmerton FFC was second with 14 fish and Wayne Cram of West Lothian FD AC was third with 13 fish.
Kevin McCabe and Neill Barrett
Scottish Club Champonship - Charity Collections

At each round of the Scottish Club Championship and Champion of Champions the competitors are asked to donate £1 for charity and at the presentation dinners raffles are held and many teams also donate their prize cheques.  On Tuesday 2nd April 2019 Dennis Splaine, Alex Galloway and Paul Barr of the Scottish Club Championship Committee called at Yorkhill where they handed over a cheque for £7,264 to Aileen McConnell, Community Campaigns Manager for Glasgow Children's Hospital Charity.
Paul Barr, Dennis Splaine and Alex Galloway with Aileen McConnell
Scottish Loch Teams Fundraiser Cup
Markle Fishery - 2nd March 2019

Brian Mackenzie was the top rod with 7 trout at the Scottish Loch Teams Fundraiser Cup at Markle on 2nd March.  Ally Middlemass was second with 6 trout and Jamie O'Meara and Grant Osler were tied in third with 4 trout.    read more on the fundraising page........
Top Rod - Brian Mackenzie
Fundraiser - Waterfront Trout Fishery, Coylton
24th February 2019

Our second fundraiser was held on Sunday 24th February at the Waterfront Trout Fishery, Coylton and the 32 anglers who were able to attend had excellent weather, excellent catering and excellent fishing.  The 32 anglers were treated to breakfast rolls on their arrival at the Waterfront and for lunch they had soup along with a choice of chicken curry, lasagne or macaroni cheese followed by Mrs Mackenzie's cakes.  Some even found time to fish and they recorded a catch of 230 hard fighting trout of which two were around 8lbs and one was over 10lbs.  The loch teams wish to thank Cameron Dodds and Colin Pang for their support of this fundraiser and Mrs Mackenzie for once again providing the cakes.

There was not a lot between the top half dozen competitors with Stephen Cowan (16 fish) just coming home in front from Brian Brown who also had 16 fish.  Billy Reid was third with 13 fish and Greg McLaren, also with 13 fish, was fourth. see full result....
Stephen Cowan receives the winners prizes from Mark Stephen autumn team captain
Parkview Fundraiser
Saturday 16th February 2019

The first of the fundraisers was held at Parkview Fishery on Saturday 16th February and was won by local angler Sandy Page who gave a demonstration on how to catch fish.  His twenty one fish was two ahead of fellow local man Paul Grant who chased him all the way to the line with his 19 fish.  Jock Kettles was third with thirteen fish.  A total of 171 fish were caught with numerous fish weighing over 3lbs.  Fish were weighed at 8lb 8ozs, 9lbs 5ozs and 9lbs 8ozs but these could not match the heaviest fish of the day that was caught by Stevie Anderson and weighed 11lbs 8ozs.  See full result.......
photo: From Left - Jock Kettles
Sandy Page and Wullie Simpson

Team Scotland 2018 at Llyn Brenig with Trophies
Autumn International
Llyn Brenig, Wales
7th September 2018

7916415 3/8
2ndWales701448 1/8
3rdEngland6513413 1/2
4thIreland5110710 3/8
2018 Autumn International Team

Back Row - Clive Collier (IFFA President),  Derek Keenan (manager),  Martin McCafferty,  Chris McAllister,  Ronnie Gilbert,  Jock Kettles,  Derek Pozzi,  Scott Reith,  Grant Osler,  Alan Hill and Ian Campbell (IFFA Secretary)
Front Row - Chris Harkess,  Kevin Andrews,  Stuart McLean,  Ray Anderson (Captain),  Derek Hessett and Alan Gilbert
Spring International
Lough Mask, Ireland
11th May 2018


2018 Spring Team at Lough Mask
Back Row:  Clive Collier (IFFA President),  Gerry Rattray,  Alan Steven, Shane Kelly, Ken Kennedy, Alan Brock, Mark Stephen, Mike Willis, George Mackenzie (International Secretary), Ian Campbell (IFFA Secretary)
Front Row:  Ian Simpson, John Simpson, Andy Dunn, Brian Mackenzie (Captain), Derek Keenan (Manager), Kenny Sichi, Alan Porteous, Rab Maxwell
Rod Licences  -  Press Release

03/02/17 12:19
Wild fisheries
Protecting the rights of anglers.

Anglers in Scotland will be shielded from increased costs. Proposals to introduce rod licences and a new wild fisheries levy will not be taken forward, Environment Secretary Roseanna Cunningham has announced.

The Scottish Government has ruled out these measures as well as the criminalisation of freshwater fishing without written permission and proposals to overhaul the structure and remit of District Salmon Fishery Boards, following a consultation on draft provisions for a Wild Fisheries (Scotland) Bill and draft Wild Fisheries Strategy.

The Scottish Government will facilitate‎ work streams which encourage, empower and support the modernisation of fishery management, including the piloting of voluntary board mergers to identify any existing legislative issues. It will also develop a fishery management plan to trial any changes with boards and will also explore potential freshwater conservation provisions ahead of the introduction of a Bill to Parliament.

Ms Cunningham said:

“The Scottish Government is committed to supporting our famous and valuable wild fisheries, to modernise our fishery management structures and to establish a more secure and sustainable future for this vital sector.

“Our Wild Fisheries Bill will build on our significant conservation achievements to date, including the annual salmon conservation measures, Spring Conservation Orders, and the moratorium on coastal mixed stock fishery netting for three years.

“However it’s important that we represent the interests of our anglers, that’s why we have listened to the sector’s concerns around increasing costs and restricting access to fisheries and are ruling out the introduction of rod licences and a freshwater levy.

“We’ve heard through the consultation that these steps would limit the opportunities for our anglers and potentially discourage young people from taking part. Over and above this we will work with the angling community to identify ways to increase participation and to improve engagement across the sector.

“I am grateful for the considerable time and energy that the wild fisheries sector has given to date to help inform the programme of reform. We will continue to work closely with our stakeholders to make sure the legislation that is ultimately brought forward is robust and fit for purpose, so that anglers have confidence in the management and development of the fisheries that they depend on.”
Derek Pozzi - 2018 National Champion
Dick Logan
River Champion 2018
2018 Scottish Club Champions
Lintrathen FF
Kevin Neri and Neil Anderson
Bobby Quinn - 2018 Champion of Champions
Back to content